Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion

SOWELA’s Commitment to Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion

SOWELA Technical Community College recognizes, respects, and honors diversity existing in society due to an individual’s age, ethnicity, national origin, race, color, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity, gender expression, disability, marital status, familial status, religious beliefs, creeds, and socioeconomic status.

The College is committed, through programs and policies, to create and sustain an environment that empowers individuals to live and work productively by embracing diversity, fostering inclusiveness, and advancing equity through dynamic, welcoming work and educational spaces in an ever-changing global society.

SOWELA’s commitment to diversity compels it to confront prejudicial, discriminatory behaviors and policies. The College supports steps and programs intended to remedy the historical under-representation of persons of color, women, veterans, and persons with disabilities in the workforce, and in ensuring a learning environment that is inclusive and equitable for all.

SOWELA’s Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee

The purpose of the DEI Committee is to help guide the integration of diversity, equity, and inclusion at SOWELA Technical Community College. The committee is tasked with implementing actionable steps related to the College’s diversity initiatives and goals for pursuing equitability for students, staff, and faculty. Committee members have committed themselves to honoring SOWELA’s diverse population, celebrating the College’s expansive culture and that of its students, faculty, & staff, and lifting the voices of the underrepresented.

Committee Officers

Name Committee Role Job Title Email
Jeremy Ryder Committee Chair Dual Enrollment Coordinator jeremy.ryder@sowela.edu
Adrienne Abel Committee Co-Vice Chair Site Coordinator, Morgan Smith Instructional Site adrienne.abel@sowela.edu
Romona Thomas Committee Co-Vice Chair Manager of Instructional Technology romona.thomas@sowela.edu

Committee Members

Name Job Title Email
Tammy Abraham Executive Assistant to Vice Chancellor, Academic Affairs tammy.abraham@sowela.edu
Melvin Caesar Welding Instructor melvin.caesar@sowela.edu
Denise Cloud-Miller Adult Education, Oakdale denise.cloudmiller@sowela.edu
Ana Denison Business Developer ana.denison@sowela.edu
Allison Dering Executive Director, Enrollment Management & Student Affairs allison.dering@sowela.edu
Amanda Guthrie Nursing Instructor amanda.guthrie@sowela.edu
Nicole Hutto SOWELA Student
Geralyn Janice Site Coordinator, Lamar Salter Instructional Site geralyn.janice@sowela.edu
Joseph Lavergne Director, Student Recruitment & Career Services joseph.lavergne@sowela.edu
Candy Parker Director, Human Resources candy.parker@sowela.edu
Chase Walling Student Success Counselor chase.walling@sowela.edu
Carl Wilkerson Facilities and Security Manager carl.wilkerson@sowela.edu
Libbie Williams Enrollment Specialist libbie.williams@sowela.edu
Marialisa Wyatt Faculty, Workforce Solutions marialisa.wyatt@sowela.edu

Employee Training

Employee Training will be provided by NAPE (The National Alliance for Partnerships in Equity).

DEI Fall 2023 Session

Presentation topic: Micromessaging to Reach and Teach Every Student

Training session will include curriculum concepts including but not limited to:

  • Interrupting bias
  • Micromessages
  • The accumulation of (dis)advantage
  • Student self-efficacycand behavior
  • Establishing a peer learning community through guided breakouts and foundational learning tools

This is an in person session only.

Registration is required. Refreshments will be provided.

3820 Senator J. Bennett Johnston Avenue
Lake Charles, Louisiana 70615
(337) 421-6565
(800) 256-0483
info@sowela.edu

Mon-Thu: 7:45 AM to 4:15 PM
Friday: 7:45 AM to 12:00 PM
(337) 421-6550

SOWELA Technical Community College does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, gender, disability, or age in its programs and activities. The following person(s) have been designated to handle inquiries regarding non-discrimination policies:

Title IX Officer

Candy Parker

candy.parker@sowela.edu

(337) 421-6510 or (800) 256-0483

3820 Sen. J. Bennett Johnston Ave. Lake Charles, LA 70615

ADA Officer

Maegan Lewis

maegan.lewis@sowela.edu

(337) 421-6952 or (800) 256-0483

3850 Sen. J. Bennett Johnston Ave. Lake Charles, LA 70615

©2024 SOWELA Technical Community College, All Rights Reserved. | Privacy Policy | Contact Us | Sitemap | Website Accessibility